SAME SEX MARRIAGE ACT 2013

LGBTQ+ HISTORY MONTH



Until the Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Act 2013, same-sex couples could only enter into civil partnerships and so still did not have same marriage rights as heterosexual couples.

The Same Sex Marriage Act was passed on 17th July 2013 and changed this. It means that that marriage between same-sex couples is legal and can take place in both non-religious and religious settings, providing that the religious organisation has 'opted-in' to solemnising same sex marriages. It also means that, after a legal transition, transgender people are still considered married to their partner.

The first same sex marriage in the UK took place on 29 March 2014.



IS CHANGE STILL NEEDED?

Although we are very lucky to have legal marriage equality in the UK, the views of many religious groups and organisations still don't align with this. For most same sex couples, this means that they can only marry in non-religious settings.

There are still 165 countries that do not allow same sex marriage. This is over 4/5 of the world.

TIMELINE OF SAME SEX MARRIAGE LEGALISATION

The Netherlands 2005

Canada, Spain 2008

Norway **2010**

Iceland, Portugal, Argentina

Uruguay, New Zealand, France, Brazil, England and Wales

2015

Finland, Ireland, Greenland, USA

2017Germany, Malta,
Australia

2020 Costa Rica, Thailand

2003

Belgium 2006

South Africa

2009 Sweden

2012 Denmark

2014 Scotland,

Scotland, Luxembourg

2016Colombia

2019

Austria, Taiwan, Ecuador, Northern Ireland **2021**

Switzerland